Heisman finalists

OU football stars Dede Westbrook and Baker Mayfield have connected on 15 touchdown passes this season. The deep-threat duo will pair up again as Heisman finalists at Saturday’s ceremony in New York City.

Westbrook and Mayfield were both named finalists for the 2016 Heisman Trophy this evening. The last time college football teammates were Heisman finalists in the same year was 2004 when OU quarterback Jason White and running back Adrian Peterson made the much-watched ceremony.


Bedlam could propel OU’s Mayfield, Westbrook to Heisman ceremony by Dr. Ashiq Zaman

USC teammates Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush were also finalists that year, and Leinart won the award.

OU has had five players win the Heisman Trophy since the award’s inception: Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003), Billy Sims (1978), Steve Owens (1969) and Billy Vessels (1950).

The other 2016 Heisman finalists are Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, who many sports prognosticators believe is the leading candidate to win college football’s top award.

A strong performance Saturday during OU’s Bedlam win over Oklahoma State helped propel the passing duo to Saturday’s ceremony.

Westbrook caught four passes from Mayfield for 111 yards and a touchdown, while Mayfield passed for 288 yards and 3 TDs.

Heisman finalists cap off strong seasons

Mayfield and Westbrook each had strong years for the Sooners, who finished 10-2 and undefeated in Big 12 conference play. OU won its 10th Big 12 title under head coach Bob Stoops.

Mayfield led college football in total QBR this season. His 91.6 rating is more than four points greater than the next highest quarterback.

From’s release on tonight’s news:

Westbrook, who is just the eighth wide receiver to be named a Heisman finalist or win the award (the Heisman Trust didn’t start announcing finalists until 1982), led the Big 12 in conference play in receiving yards (145.7 per game; the next highest average was 95.7) and points (11.6 per game).

After Saturday’s Bedlam performance, Westbrook moved into second place with 1,454 yards and first place with 16 receiving TDs in Sooner history.

OU will face Auburn in the Sugar Bowl at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 2. The game is played annually in New Orleans.