Saturday, May 18, 2019

“I think being a liberal, in the true sense, is being nondoctrinaire, nondogmatic, non-committed to a cause – but examining each case on its merits. Being left of center is another thing; it’s a political position. I think most newspapermen by definition have to be liberal; if they’re not liberal, by my definition of it, then they can hardly be good newspapermen. If they’re preordained dogmatists for a cause, then they can’t be very good journalists; that is, if they carry it into their journalism.”

— Walter Cronkite in a Playboy interview, 1973


NonDoc’s editorial goals are simple and staked in “the public good.” Our owners and editors value responsible reporting, intelligent analysis, poignant photography and sharp humor. We strive to present our content accurately, fairly and transparently.

We seek to publish diverse, interesting voices while serving as “a filter” and not a funnel, highlighting quality work from local and national sources while providing extra information and insight when possible. In addition to traditional reportage, we regularly feature commentary and opinion pieces from across the political spectrum. Our hope is you find yourself a little more informed and engaged by content that matters in our city and our world.

Good journalism and respectful public dialogue benefit every community, and at NonDoc we offer a forum for the engaged and curious reader. Thank you for visiting our site, and please consider supporting our work.


Tres Savage
Editor in Chief & Co-Owner

Rosemary Meacham-Zittel

Ashiq Zaman

NonDoc history

  • NonDoc Media launched Sept. 1, 2015.
  • Founder Andrew Rice sold NonDoc to his editors July 1, 2016.
  • Rosemary Meacham-Zittell and Ashiq Zaman joined the company in 2016.
  • Longtime managing editor Josh McBee stepped away from the company to pursue other interests Feb. 1, 2019.

NonDoc awards

In May 2018, the Oklahoma chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honored NonDoc with five awards for content published during 2017:

  • First place, “Best Website”
  • First place, “Online Writing”
  • Second place, “Online Writing”
  • Third place, “Online Writing”
  • Third place, “Website Design”

Reporters sought
Submissions welcome
Sponsors desired
For all other inquiries, please contact us.

About NonDoc

Recent Pieces

Joe Harroz

OU regents name former Boren legal counsel as interim president

The University of Oklahoma Board of Regents named College of Law Dean Joe Harroz as OU's interim president "for at least 15 months" just...

Appropriations advance, as does repeal of April 1 #oklaed deadline

Members of the House Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget spent almost two hours this afternoon advancing 11 measures related to the budget deal...

Activists to regents: ‘You’ve been given a rare do-over’

“Don’t feel pressure to do anything you’re uncomfortable with,” Jess Eddy said, his back to the audience. Eddy, who has publicly accused former University of...
letter to the editors

Letter: We need action, not Monday-night quarterbacking of hope

(Editor’s note: NonDoc runs Letters to the Editors between 300 words and 500 words. NonDoc reserves the right to edit lightly for length, style...
HB 2632video

HB 2632: Health care costs enough already

As the 2019 Oklahoma legislative session draws to a close, there is a bill being aggressively pushed through the Oklahoma Legislature that could drive...
budget deal

Budget deal: The full list of new #okleg appropriations

Less than 48 hours after the Oklahoma House and Senate held dueling press conferences, Gov. Kevin Stitt joined leaders of both chambers today to...

Popular Articles