Breea Clark secures Norman mayorship, next to Norman logo. (NonDoc)

Breea Clark won the Norman mayoral election tonight. Three other Norman City Council members in odd-numbered districts won their elections outright, while Ward 3 voters will participate in a runoff.

Residents of even-numbered City Council districts will vote in January 2020 for their council members. Incumbent Mayor Lynne Miller did not seek re-election this year.

Results published here are drawn from the Oklahoma State Election Board’s website. The results are unofficial.

Breea Clark elected Norman mayor

Norman mayor
From left: Breea Clark, Evan Dunn and Bill Hickman are three candidates to be the next Norman mayor. (NonDoc)

Clark led her opponents Bill Hickman and Evan Dunn in combined early and absentee votes and maintained her lead, finishing with 51.4 percent of the popular vote. Hickman came in second with about 45 percent. Evan Dunn grabbed about 3.5 percent of the vote.

Clark and Hickman are current Norman City Council members who represent Ward 6 and Ward 4, respectively. While Hickman will return to his position, the City Council will appoint someone to fill Clark’s Ward 6 seat.

Incumbent Bierman wins Ward 1

Norman's Ward 1
From left: Kate Bierman and Shon Williamson-Jennings. (NonDoc)

Kate Bierman, Norman Ward 1 incumbent, won Tuesday with 63.2 percent of the vote in tonight’s election. Shon Williamson-Jennings ended with 36.7 percent of the vote.

Bierman was first elected in 2017, and will begin her second term.

Runoff in Ward 3

Norman Ward 3
From left, Alison Petrone, Patrick Ahern and Richard Bailey all seek Robert Castleberry’s abandoned Ward 3 Norman City Council seat. (NonDoc)

No candidate won over 50 percent of the popular vote in Ward 3. Alison A. Petrone with 49.8 percent of the vote and Richard Bailey with 44.8 percent will compete in a runoff election attached to the April 2 school board election.

Patrick Ahern came in third with about 5.3 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Holman wins outright in Ward 7

From left: Stephen Tyler Holman, Kyle Hurley, and Kimberly Blodgett. (NonDoc)

Stephen Tyler Holman, Ward 7 incumbent, won re-election with 53.6 percent of the vote. Kyle Hurley came in second with 26.9 percent of the vote and Kimberly Blodgett and came in third with 17.8 percent.

Holman was first elected in 2013. He will begin serving his third term this year.

Don Parker’s name appeared on the ballot, despite his withdrawal from the race in January. He drew in 9 votes.

Trinity Cohee is a journalism major at the University of Oklahoma's Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication. She completed an editorial internship at NonDoc in June 2019 and continues to contribute freelance content.
After a 2018 internship with NonDoc, Ben served as the site's Student Editor until December 2019, helping publish Gaylord College students' work.