Bankers Hall of Fame
From left to right, 2018 inductees into the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame: Ken Fergeson, Gene Rainbolt and Larry Briggs.

Three outstanding bankers — and individuals — will receive due recognition from the industry to which they have given so much when they are inducted into the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame on Dec. 4.

Shawnee banker Larry Briggs, Altus banker Ken Fergeson and Oklahoma City banker Gene Rainbolt will make up the inaugural class of the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is a new endeavor, created by the Oklahoma Bankers Association, to recognize those who have made an indelible mark on the banking industry in this state.

A few other states have recently started their own banker halls of fame, and the Oklahoma Bankers Association decided it was high time to honor those in our own state. Dozens of nominees were taken from bankers statewide, and those nominees were eventually pared down to a handful by a roundtable of prominent bankers. That handful was voted upon by a large group of selected bankers from across the state, with the top three making up the initial class.

Banks and bankers have been the backbone of Oklahoma’s many small communities, even prior to statehood. The importance of banks can be seen from small businesses popping up in cities to new scoreboards going up at local football fields.


11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 4
Oklahoma History Center

Ticket: $65
Table: $500 (8 seats)

RSVP: Nancy McKinnis
(405) 424-5252

Most bankers are happy simply toiling away in the background, eschewing any recognition or honors. But the creation of the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame — the brainchild of Oklahoma Bankers Association President and CEO Roger Beverage — will finally shine a light on these individuals and their accomplishments.

The public is welcome to attend the induction ceremony, which will be held over lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 4, at the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma City. If you are interested in attending the event, please RSVP to the OBA’s Nancy McKinnis at (405) 424-5252 or The cost for an individual seat is $65 and $500 for a table of eight.

Sponsorships and congratulatory ads for the event are also available. Click here to download a PDF with more information.

Below, please find more information about this years inductees into the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame:

Larry Briggs

  • President and CEO, First National Bank & Trust Co., Shawnee.
  • Entered banking in 1968 with Citizens State Bank in Morrison.
  • Became president at First National in Holdenville at just 29-years old.
  • Become president and CEO at FNB-Shawnee in 1994.
  • Past Chairman of Oklahoma Bankers Association.
  • Current PAC Committee Chairman at Oklahoma Bankers Association.

Ken Fergeson

  • Chairman, NBC Oklahoma, Altus.
    Entered banking in 1971 at Liberty National Bank in Oklahoma City.
  • Joined First National Bank of Enid in 1979 as executive vice president.
  • Purchased majority of National Bank of Commerce in Altus (now NBC Oklahoma) in 1985.
  • Past Chairman of American Bankers Association.
  • Past Chairman of Oklahoma Bankers Association.

Gene Rainbolt

  • Chairman Emeritus, BancFirst Corp., Oklahoma City.
  • Served with U.S. Army in Korean War.
  • Became president at Federal National Bank in Shawnee in 1967.
  • Named chairman of Federal National Bank in Shawnee in 1974.
  • Became chairman of United Community Corp., in 1985.
  • Founded BancFirst in Oklahoma City in 1985, serving as chairman until 2016.